1980-1995 Perez-Steele Autographed Hall of Fame Postcard Set with Fifty-Nine Signed Cards

Sold For: $1,659

Auction Year: 2012 spring

Lot: 952

Item Year: 1980

Category: Autographed Baseballs/Flats/Photos

Rate This Item

Do you have an item like this that you're considering selling?

Do you want to make an offer on this exact item?

This complete set of Perez-Steele Hall of Fame postcards is comprised of 275 cards (including all of the checklist cards) and features fifty-nine signed examples. Perez-Steele Hall of Fame postcards, which are universally recognized as one of the most classic issues ever produced for autograph collectors, were originally issued in fifteen individual series between 1980 and 2001. With the exception of seven cards (featuring Hall of Fame Officials, Perez-Steele Gallery executives, and other non-ballplayers) only Baseball Hall of Fame members are included in the set. Each card was limited to a print run of 10,000 and every card is individually numbered on the reverse. Of the 275 cards in the set, only 104 could possibly have been signed by Hall of Fame players (the balance of the players passed away prior to the date of publication). The offered collection features fifty-eight signed Hall of Fame player cards, as well as one card signed by President H. W. Bush. All of the cards are from set number "02899" with the exception of the DiMaggio, Lyons, and Leonard cards (all three are from set number "02267"). Organized by series, the following are the fifty-eight Hall of Fame player-signed cards in this collection: Second Series: Hubbell and Gehringer; Third Series: Dickey, Terry, DiMaggio, Lyons, Feller, and Roush; Fourth Series: Appling, T. Williams, Musial, and Boudreau; Fifth Series: Berra, Gomez, Koufax, B. Leonard, Wynn, Irvin, Spahn, Bell, Conlan, Ford, Mantle, Herman, and J. Johnson; Sixth Series: Kiner, Lemon, Roberts, Banks, Lopez, Sewell, Mathews, Mays, Kaline, Snider, Gibson, and Mize; Seventh Series: Aaron, Chandler, T. Jackson, F. Robinson, Kell, Marichal, and B. Robinson; Eighth Series: Aparicio, Drysdale, Ferrell, Killebrew, Reese, Brock, Slaughter, and Wilhelm; Ninth Series: Doerr, McCovey, Dandridge, Hunter, B. Williams; Tenth Series: (no signed cards from the tenth series); Eleventh Series: (no signed cards from the eleventh series); Twelfth Series: Rizzuto; Thirteenth Series: (no signed cards from the thirteenth series); Fourteenth Series: (no signed cards from the fourteenth series); Fifteenth Series: (no signed cards from the fifteenth series). In addition to the fifty-eight signed Hall of Fame player cards, Card "F" from the tenth series has been signed by President George Bush. All of the cards have been signed on the front in either blue or black Sharpie, and the signatures grade "9/10" overall, with the exception of Johnson (blue ink; "6/7"), and Lyons (black ink; "7/8"). The cards are in overall Nr-Mt condition. As a point of reference, the 2011 Standard Catalog of Baseball Cards lists the value of the fifty-eight Hall of Famer signed cards in this set (not counting the signed George Bush card which is included) at $3,460. LOA from James Spence/JSA. Total: 275 cards (59 signed). Reserve $500. Estimate $1,000/$2,000+. SOLD FOR $1,659

More items like this:

(Swipe images to see more)